top of page
  • Writer's picturelivingbyfaith

Pirate Week



Ahoy Mateys, it is Pirate week. I usually do not do theme weeks but the week of my son's birthday I thought it would be a neat idea to have some fun while reviewing our numbers and letters. This week is going to be packed full of fun hands on activities, learning pirate talk, going over numbers and letters, some crafts and of course a pirate sensory bin.



Reviewing Numbers 1-20 lessons

1. Count by using pirate coins

2. Pirate number hunt map game: I made a pirate treasure map out of colorful paper. I will hide numbers 1-20 in one room in the house. My son will put the pirate map on the table and as he finds the number he will match it with the number on the map and say the number.

3. He will write his "pirate numbers" on a treasure map.


Review Letters lessons

1. Pirate letter hunt map game: I made a pirate treasure map out of colorful paper. I will hide letters in one room in the house. My son will put the pirate map on the table and as he finds the letter he will match it with the letter on the map and say the letter. I will also do this with letter sounds instead of him saying the letter he will say the sound.

2. Uppercase Pirate letter coins sensory bin with lowercase letter worksheet matching game: I made a sensory bin with brown beans. I got pirate coins at dollar tree. I wrote letters on paper, cut then taped it to the coins. I also put a pirate necklace and ring in the sensory bin. The worksheet is just lowercase letters, I made my own with colorful paper.

3. He will write his "pirate letters" on a treasure map.



Fun little Pirate Crafts

1. Make a pirate ship: be creative, I am letting my son use materials that he wants to use.

2. Make a pirate map

3. Pirate magnet sensory bottle: For this you will need a bottle, water, small little toys or anything you want to put in bottle and some things that are magnetic. Put everything in the bottle, let your child give it a good shake then give them a magnet and let them explorer what sticks to magnet and what does not.

4. Pirate sensory bin: I put kinetic sand, a little treasure box with gems, a little shovel toy, two pirate people toys, some shells, and blue paper for water with a toilet paper roll cut in half for the ships.



Pirate Books:

1.Shiver me letters : a pirate ABC

2.The night pirates

3. Port Side Pirates

4. I wish I were a Pirate


Pirate Poem:

1. Ten little Pirates




Pirate songs

1. If you want to be a pirate https://www.bing.com/videos/search?q=preschool+pirate+songs&view=detail&mid=530413E9C6A27B4EC1F4530413E9C6A27B4EC1F4&FORM=VIRE

2. Counting 1-15 song https://www.bing.com/videos/search?q=preschool+pirate+songs&view=detail&mid=36D46223FEA13EF5EAEA36D46223FEA13EF5EAEA&FORM=VIRE

3. ABCs pirate song https://www.bing.com/videos/search?q=pirate+songs+abcs&view=detail&mid=56527D7856E6B973DE5856527D7856E6B973DE58&FORM=VIRE


Pirate talk:


Enjoy some Pirate fun with your little ones.

Blessings,

April


22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page